More Comments: Looking for god.

 

 

I like to answer the comments left by readers in a more public way. This is to allow everyone to read them and come up with their own opinions and get involved in the discussion. This post’s comments come from a reader who goes by the name “danmondy”

Don’t fall for anything but what if you encounter a real God?

The “don’t fall for anything” line is good sound advice. I do not intend to. I have stated before that I need to see some sort of evidence. But the second part of this, the “encountering a real god” part needs some discussion.

We need to define “encounter”. If we mean encounter as in the dictionary definition like this: “to come upon or meet with, esp. unexpectedly”, then I believe that will never happen. I do not believe anyone has encountered a “real god” in that sense. No one has been able to actually prove it. But, for the sake of argument lets supposed I did run into a real god. What kind of god are we talking about? I will suppose you mean the Christian god. If I actually encountered the Christian god, and it was demonstrated that it was in fact said god, I still would not worship it. I would believe it existed, but it would need to do a lot of explaining before I could worship.

But when I say have faith, I mean pursue expecting.

The problem I have with this is that when people are expecting a certain outcome, they tend to see things in that light and bend any small amount of “evidence” to fit the outcome they wish to have. It is a flawed way to search for a god. And once again terms are changing. Faith is more or less defined this way: “belief that is not based on proof”.

It takes faith to look, but God does not want you to believe without finding. God says in the bible “taste and see that I am good.” Those are scientific words. Taste… See…

This is really flawed because it uses god and the bible as direction for searching for god. Taste and see are not scientific words. Tasting is essentially to “perceive or distinguish the flavor of”. Some people can taste some things, other people can not. While largely uniform, it is not scientific and a lot is subjective. See is also subjective. Some people see things that are not even there, some people can not see at all, some people can see colors, some people are color blind. Some people see things differently than others, their interpretations are different. Not very scientific.

What I am really trying to say is why not look for God? He wants to reveal himself to you.

If he has this desire to reveal himself to me then why do I have to look? that is contradictory in nature. Furthermore if he has this desire to reveal himself then he would be easily seen, tested, and affirmed as god. He has not done that at. This justifies not believing in this god.

-GRAtheist-

14 responses to “More Comments: Looking for god.

  1. Thanks for sharing. I recently wrote a post called “Sign” and it’s about people seeking proof for God’s existence. I’d be interested to hear your opinion.

    More fire!
    Jas

    http://www.morefire.wordpress.com

  2. What I am really trying to say is why not look for God? He wants to reveal himself to you.

    If he has this desire to reveal himself to me then why do I have to look? that is contradictory in nature. Furthermore if he has this desire to reveal himself then he would be easily seen, tested, and affirmed as god. He has not done that at. This justifies not believing in this god.

    -GRAtheist-

    let me use this for awhile.

    everyday, people come and go, you will meet this person, without you looking.
    because you are open to them, like God, if only you will open your heart and your whole life to him, little by little he will reveal himself to you without you knowing….

    and eventhough you are not open to his revelation, he will surely touch your heart and i know there are people who will be used by God just for you to know that He is alive!

  3. I have been open to “god’s revelation” and found it was all a bunch of my own cultural influences and head trips.

    If there is a god or souls or whatever. You will never have knowledge of until you experience it.

    Until then, if you a are a believer, I think you are just worshiping the embodiment of the values of your culture and saying it is god and his son and what they stood for.

  4. Uhmm… when we were young my mother used to call us to pray in front of the altar (Filipinos have altars in their homes) at 6 PM. One time there was a massive blackout in our block… i was very young then so i always say my prayer alud… I was like, “Jesus paki balik na po yung ilaw.” (Jesus please bring back the light) at that nano sacond. After i have uttered those words the lights came.

  5. **say my prayer aloud

  6. khollete said this:

    “everyday, people come and go, you will meet this person, without you looking.
    because you are open to them, like God, if only you will open your heart and your whole life to him, little by little he will reveal himself to you without you knowing….

    and even though you are not open to his revelation, he will surely touch your heart and i know there are people who will be used by God just for you to know that He is alive!”

    Ludicrous. There is no proof of this, nor do you have any basis for these claims. These things you claim to “know” are not based in any reality, just nice quaint ideas.

    As outobol alluded to, the many eager seekers who truly want real proof of god are left without any signs of god. God is just, as outobol said, a reflection of your values and cultural upbringing or environment.

  7. Richmond said
    “I was like, “Jesus paki balik na po yung ilaw.” (Jesus please bring back the light) at that nano sacond. After i have uttered those words the lights came.”

    And I have said “Phone Ring now!” and my phone rang, I have said “Streetlight change now” and it changed. Am I god?

    Many many times power outages occur for seconds and then turn back on. With enough time for anyone to ask any deity to turn them back on.

    One data point does not show a trend.

    Am I supposed to believe that god favored your request for electricity over the prayers of dying, starving, and sick people? Ok.

    -GRAtheist-

  8. i am a new christian, one time, when we had our fellowship together with a group of youth. i had this unexplainable experience, we were led by our youth pastor, after we had fun, we proceed to praise and worship part, then suddenly our youth pastor lay his hands to me then started praying…then i was singing, then i prayed to let God blessed me, and that God will use me.and so i lift my life to Him… after that few words i found myself on the ground!!!

    do you know what happened? my eyes were closed then as i utter those words, i felt that somebody is just around my back, all i can see is light, i feel so much relaxed,that i didn’t noticed that i just fell on the ground. It doesn’t hurt, there’s no gush of blood and whatever! Do you know why, because i let him fill my heart and he blessed my whole life!

    that is my experience that nobody can change. God is my protector and i believe in Him. It’s not my mind that commands my whole body to fell. And the pastor didn’t touched even a single strand of my hair, there’s no force to push me to the ground. How can u explain it!

  9. and I said “fly me to the moon now”… and Im still here

  10. You are a cool person…

  11. khollete

    I have been to revival services and seen people slain in the spirit, speaking in tongues , having emotional breakdowns and unable to explain their experience.

    I have seen people at musical events “possessed” in a similar way, weather they are star struck or moved by the beauty of a performance.

    Now, I’m not trying to change your experience and you are absolutely correct in saying that no one can change your experience. I imagine that your understanding of this experience will change in life, especially when you look at your expectations going into such an experience.

  12. u can’t directly say it when u didn’t actually experienced it.

    there are two different types of people on earth…and we call it opposites…and they make life more interesting…and u are my opposite!

Leave a Reply

