Dont these little babies just make you see that there is a god??

Actually no, they dont.

Around the time when my wife and I were awaiting our first (and so far only) Bundle of joy, the “lady who tries to save me” (LWTTSM) was questioning me on my belief or lack of belief in god and Jesus. I deflected the questions quite nicely, but then she started to make me mad.

She said something like this; “only rotten people can look at a newborn miracle and not see god”.

Well, first of all, a miracle is this; “an effect or extraordinary event in the physical world that surpasses all known human or natural powers and is ascribed to a supernatural cause.” So to begin with it is in fact, not a miracle. It is pretty amazing and incredible, but we know how it works and is a result of the physical world.

When I look at my son I see love, excitement, intelligence, potential, reality. I do not look at him and see something else. His existence does not make me see that there is a god. I find what she said troubling mainly for these 2 reasons.

1: She implied that she looked at her kids and saw something other than her children. Of course she saw her children, and loves them dearly, but she is attributing them and their existence to something which is unseen. This in a way reduces them to second place, behind god.

2: She thought she could and had the right to speak in a matter of fact way about me and my life and my experiences and declare that my child is an act of god so great that I could not deny it.

I see children for who they are and what they do and also their potential. I dont look at them and defer to someone else. That is belittling to the children.

-GRAtheist-

   
3 responses to “Dont these little babies just make you see that there is a god??

  1. i don’t know who i’m logged in as. i’m just wondering if there is anything that transcends human knowledge that is also immenant in the world – pantheistic perhaps, that we can not know or grasp, that we can only be a part of, because i sometimes call that God, just because a word doesn’t really matter, it’s unnamable and incomprehensible. or not. i’m not really sure.

  2. o h yeah, i am certainly not this “nambale” person. that’s for sure.

  3. “o h yeah, i am certainly not this “nambale” person. that’s for sure.”
    HAHA!

    But as far as this comment,

    “anything that transcends human knowledge that is also immenant in the world …., that we can not know or grasp, that we can only be a part of, because i sometimes call that God, just because a word doesn’t really matter, it’s unnamable and incomprehensible. ”

    That makes sense to wonder about. It, oddly enough, seems like a “reasonable” line of thinking. That “we are part of something larger than us that is connected” line of thought is quite common, it is what bred regular monotheistic religions. Whether or not that is our humanity, consciousness, some underlying “force” or what have you, I wouldn’t claim to know. It could also be just our human intelligence and connections with other people throughout all the years of humanity that we have fostered.

    Thanks for commenting

    -GRAtheist-

Leave a Reply

